1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

New student with questions

1. Mar 18, 2014 #1
    I am a sophomore in highschool and am very, very interested in learning about quantum physics.

I would like to know good courses to take in highschool and college so that I will be able to learn as much as I can about it. I am especially interested in quantum entanglement, but I've read that a lot of media we see is all "wow factor"

With that said, I'd also like to know credible sources for learning about this topic that I can access now. Would TV shows like "nova" be credible or useful to me? If not, are there other sites that I can check out?

Thanks a million! :)

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 18, 2014 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

TV-shows like "nova" are known as pop-sci (or popular science). They should always be taken with a huge grain of salt. Most of them present information that might not be wrong, but is taken heavily out of context. They will probably get you interested in the material though.

Now, if you want to learn QM "for real", then you have some work to do. It's not a very difficult subject in my opinion, but it requires some prerequisites. Sadly enough, I'll have to say that it will take you over a year (and perhaps several years) to master the prerequisites. Here is some of the stuff you will have to know: