Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

New to C/C++

1. Dec 28, 2007 #1

Defennder

Homework Helper

I'm new to programming languages in general and I discovered that engineering students at my university, of which I am one, have to take a first-year introductory course to programming in C. Apart from the fact that I'm clueless as to where to start, I'm looking for a good text which I can learn from. Can anyone here recommend some good introductory texts I can learn from. I'm currently looking through some of the websites listed in the stickies here but I don't see any recommended texts.

Can someone comment on whether Engineering Problem Solving with C by Delores M Etter is a good starting text?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 28, 2007 #2

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Why don't you wait until the course starts to make a decision about whether or not you need an additional text. If you're in a hurry, try the Schaum's Outline, it is inexpensive.

4. Dec 28, 2007 #3

ranger

Gold Member

C Primer Plus by Stephen Prata is my main reference book for C and is the text I used in my introductory programming course. The C++ Primer by Prata is also good introduction to C++.

5. Dec 29, 2007 #4

Defennder

Homework Helper

Thanks for the recommendations. I'll go check them out. Reason why I wanted to get a recommendation is because I learn rather slowly and would therefore need some kind of head-start to study at the same pace as the rest.

6. Dec 29, 2007 #5

ranger

Gold Member

Its generally a good idea to get a head start. In this way you won't be surprised by the lectures. You can also take sometime to write some questions that are perplexing and discuss them with your professor.