Tips for Succeeding in AP-Physics B

• Thread starter endi
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tips
In summary, a student is seeking tips on how to improve in their first physics class, which is AP-Physics B and algebra/trig based. Suggestions are to focus on understanding concepts and applying them in different situations, as well as having a good grasp of the math involved. For more advanced physics, learning calculus is recommended and the book "Fundamentals of Physics" by Halliday, Resnick, Walker is suggested. Other books for learning physics include "Six Easy Pieces" and "Six Not-So-Easy Pieces" by Richard Feynman and "A Brief History of Time" by Stephen Hawking.
endi
Hey all,
This is my first year taking a real physics class and so far it's been fun. The class is AP-Physics B and it is algebra/trig based. I was wondering if i could get some tips from the pros at how to be better at physics, and maybe what materials should i buy to assist me on my learning journey.
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello,

As your first physics class it's probably best to focus on understanding the concepts. Make sure you can apply them in different ways to different situations too. Also it's good to make sure you have a good grasp over the mathematics that is involved. Even though math is just a tool we use it's just as important as understanding the concepts, and you could even say the two ideas are essentially intertwined.

If you all ready understand the material pretty well you might want to start to learn calculus to prepare you for more advanced physics. An excellent intro calculus-based physics book is Fundamentals of Physics by Halliday, Resnick, Walker which I highly suggest getting if you are able to learn some calculus.

Some other books that are good for learning are:
-Six Easy Pieces by Richard Feynman (He'll make you see physics in an entirely different way)
-Six Not-So-Easy Pieces by Richard Feynman
-A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking