Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

New to PRO/E modelling

1. Jun 8, 2010 #1
    Greetings Engineers

I am relatively new to pro/e modelling. Most of the solids I have created till date using pro/e have been simple ones using mostly the extrude or revolve tool.

I am presented with a problem as I try to create a more complex model of a crane arm ( similar to the arm in - http://i730.photobucket.com/albums/ww309/M3T2009/Transformers_2009_120.jpg - without the hook) I would really appreciate it if someone who has any ideas on how to model this could guide me in the right direction because I have no idea where to start from.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 8, 2010 #2
    I have no experience with pro/e, but i've been using solidworks a bit. From what i've heard, they have a quite similair UI.

If you Dont know how to approche the problem because of the software i'd advise You to look at some tutorials. From my experience its easyer to model complexe things if you have seen (done) the prosess a few times.

For this model i'd separate the different parts (identify how many different there are), model them individually and assemble them all together.

Please excuse my spelling.
    - Andreas

4. Jun 9, 2010 #3

minger

Science Advisor

The crane arm is composed basically just of tube. So, you can use your primitive tool to create cylinders, using a boolean at the endpoints. Another approach would be to create points at the intersections and lines between them. Then sweep over the lines with a circular cross-section to create the truss.

5. Jun 9, 2010 #4
    @Andreas - Thanks for your reply.