Exploring the Mysteries of Quantum Mechanics: A Scientist's Perspective

• Thread starter jimharvard
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Qm
In summary, the conversation discussed various topics related to quantum mechanics, including the beliefs of subscribers to the site, the validity of certain principles and theories, and the search for a theory of everything. The responders shared their opinions and discussed the philosophical implications of these theories. The conversation also highlighted the difference between the subjective opinions of lawyers and the objective nature of quantum mechanics.
jimharvard
hi, I'm new to QM and am a lawyer - only an "armchair" physicist.

I would be interested in understanding the "views" of subscribers to this site. Specifically:
1. Do you believe in the story of Schorderker's cat?
2. Is Heisenburg's uncertainty principal still valid?
3. Is the Higgs Boson real?
4. How do you feel about string theory?
5. Are there 11 dimensions?
6. Is M Theory plausible?
7. Do you believe the universe exists beyond "the visable light limit" in cosmology?
8. Why is the universe expansion rate increasing?
9. Does the event horizon of a black hole violate E=MC(squared)?
10. Is the search for TOE (theory of everything) futile?

thanks... just wondering...
jim coster, esq., pittsburgh, pa

Physics news on Phys.org
1. No. 2. Sort of. 3. Nobody knows. 4. Math is tough. 5. Possibly. 7. Possibly. 8. Nobody knows. 9. No. 10. No.

1. Yes in principle, not in practice.
2. Yes, if correctly interpreted.
3. LHC will tell us soon.
4. Good.
5. Possibly.
6. Not to me, but maybe that's just my lack of understanding.
7. Yes, if I correctly understood the question.
8. Due to the cosmological constant?
9. Of course not. (Why do you think it might?)
10. No.