Maths Tips for Newbies | Maths for Fun

• Thread starter princess_thoughtful
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation is about a person who is new to "Maths for Fun" and is looking for tips on what they can start with and build up to. They enjoy proving things in class and are looking for websites with easy proofs to keep them busy in class. They also mention learning about math competitions such as AMC 12, AIME, and USAMO.
princess_thoughtful
hey all :smile: I am quite new to the Maths for Fun thing... i like what we do in class... but doing something outside of it would be fun. has ne1 got any tips on what i can start with, and then build up 2? thanks! o:)

Mathematics news on Phys.org
princess_thoughtful said:
hey all :smile: I am quite new to the Maths for Fun thing... i like what we do in class... but doing something outside of it would be fun. has ne1 got any tips on what i can start with, and then build up 2? thanks! o:)

What do you do in class ? There are many popular mathematics books, Knotted Doughnuts, Joy of Mathematics, Flatterland, etc.

i esp like provin stuff in class... was wondering if u knew ne websites that gave sum easy proofs i culd try 1st, then sum other 1s... just 2 keep me busy in class when i get bored.

math competitions, i didnt know about these until the beginning of this year. AMC 12, AIME, USAMO.

What are some tips for newbies learning maths?