Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Newbie!

1. Dec 7, 2004 #1
    Hello everyone... As you can notice from my posts !! I'm a fresh to this forum. It's one of my first visits.
    There are bunch of topics in this forum and all I thought it was about physics...lol

I didn't have time to take a look at the enormous posts and threads of this site. So, what do you members talk about? I see there's Physics, Math, Engineering, Astronomy ...
    Well, as for me, I'm studying Electrical Engineering... what can I gain or discuss here?

Just wanted to say hi and know more about this place...
    I like it :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 7, 2004 #2

JasonRox

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Welcome to PF!

To answer your question:

1) You can gain better understanding on areas you do or don't understand.

2) Discuss anything that is relevant to the forum in question.

Yes, this is a good place.

4. Dec 7, 2004 #3
    Hello ¡Samer, thats just an i, hmm, I was trying to figure out what the alt code was for an upside down exclamation point :redface:

5. Dec 7, 2004 #4
    :bugeye: :bugeye: :bugeye: :bugeye: :bugeye: :bugeye: :bugeye:
    [chant]
    Fresh Meat!
    Fresh Meat!
    Fresh Meat!
    Fresh Meat!
    Fresh Meat!
    Fresh Meat!
    Fresh Meat!
    [/chant]

Welcome iSamer. We talk about pretty much anything and everything, you just have to keep it in the relevant subforum (its better to anyway, since the people most knowledgeable about a certain subject tend to visit its forum more frequently). And here in Gen Disc we just talk about whatever is on our minds which means its mostly idle chit chat, although occasionally an important discussion will start when someone (usually me) hijacks a thread. It happens.

6. Dec 7, 2004 #5