1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Newton´s law of motion

1. Jul 6, 2005 #1
    I got problems with with some of my homework problems in physics. Its about Newtons Laws of motion and i have really no idea what to do :cry:

I have an object beind acted upon by three forces and moves with a constant velocity. One force is 60N along the x-axis, the second is 75N along a direction making a counterclockwise angle of 150° with the x-axis. What I need to find out is the direction of the third force, measured conterclockwise from the x-axis.

I am not very good at vectors and trigonometry, so if someone can give me some advice where to start and with what formula, I would very appreciate it.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 6, 2005 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Please note that we DO have a homework help section.

Zz.

4. Jul 6, 2005 #3
    Draw a diagram to start, as they can help (even if they're quite simple). What condition must the forces on the object satisfy for it to be moving at a constant velocity?

5. Jul 6, 2005 #4
    As the object moves with constant velocity, its acceleration is zero , therefore this implies that net force on this object is zero.Place the particle at origin, and display the forces in directions as described in your post . Make use of simple geometry and methods to find resultant between vectors when the angle between them is given . Find the condition when net force on object is zero.

BJ

6. Jul 6, 2005 #5
    well im pretty sure what your looking for is a blaance from the counter clockwise angle... in such a case, the third force would be 75N acting in a direction that would create a clockwise angle of 150 degerrs with the x axis... that would put it back to a constant stright velocity along the x axis