Highschool Nitrogen Laser Project

In summary, the student is trying to build a nitrogen laser, but is having trouble getting it to work. The laser appears to work fine with the C-clamps disconnected, but may not work properly with them connected. The student is looking for advice on how to fix the problem.
DaemonStudent
I don't know if this is the right place to post this but here goes. I'm a Highschool student building a nitrogen laser for an independent research project. I don't know much about lasers besides what I've read in physics textbooks and amateur laser pages. My and my mentor have already constructed the laser itself but we cannot get it to lase or arc in between the spark gap. We are using two aluminum plates for top plates, another aluminum plate for the common plate, polyethylene for the dielectric, a six turn copper inductor and a solid state transformer for the power supply. The power supply can arc by itself through a few cm's of air so we know that we are making enough voltage. When we connect the bottom and one of the top plates nothing happens except a high pitch noise from the power supply. Also no voltage is present in the plates when we probe it with a DMM. I'm pretty sure there aren't any shorts and my mentor has the slightest clue. Hopefully there are some laser experts...

Attachments

• IMG00021-20100107-1010.jpg
    IMG00021-20100107-1010.jpg
    42 KB · Views: 430
  • IMG00022-20100107-1011.jpg
    IMG00022-20100107-1011.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 393
  • IMG00023-20100107-1011.jpg
    IMG00023-20100107-1011.jpg
    41.3 KB · Views: 411
Engineering news on Phys.org
The power supply probably does not supply much current. Any leakage would probably effectively short the supply.