1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Non-academic (Defense) Research

1. Dec 23, 2008 #1
    Hello All!

I'm a third-year physics student attending a private university here in the States and am currently applying to summer research programs. While I have applied to the traditional SULI and DAAD RISE (German Exchange) programs, I'm also interested in defense research at programs such as the Institute for Defense Analyses.

I've done two summers of "research" (although they weren't very productive--my first summer was with a lab that was going through the grant-writing frenzy consuming everybody and my second summer was setting up an undergraduate-run research lab) and I admit that they probably did not hold much experience. In fact, they weren't very "physics-y"--the first lab was microfluidics and the second lab was synthetic biology. I was curious as to whether graduate schools welcome defense research or dismiss it as irrelevant. I feel a bit as if this is my last chance to set up a good bit of research (I'm taking the grad-course route to an honors BA as opposed to the thesis route) and would like to know some opinions, especially those of you who are on admissions committees or have gone through similar experiences.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 23, 2008 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor