Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Non homogenous 4th order eq

1. Nov 7, 2007 #1
    Hi everyone... i'm new to this fourm......Can anyone tell me how a non homogenous 4th order pde can be solved. its a cantilever beam transverse vibration problem. can i use variables seperable??? i got solution for homogenous eq.... but how abt non homogenous part.

the eq is
    [tex] \frac{\partial^4 y(x,t)}{\partial x^4} -A*\frac{\partial^2y(x,t)}{\partial t^2}=f(x,t)[/tex]
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2007 #2

Chris Hillman

Science Advisor

Two suggestions for homogeneous vibration equation

That's a version of the Euler beam equation... oh, I see you already know that! OK, first try setting f=0 and consider the initial value problem
    y_{tt} = A \, y_{xxxx}, \, y(0,x) = p(x), \; y_t(0,x) = q(x)
    ..oh, I see, you already solved that!