Normal Derivative at Boundary Surface S Explained

In summary: And so on.In summary, the formula \frac{\partial }{\partial n} is the normal derivative at the boundary surface S in the outward direction, defined as the directional derivative in the direction of a unit vector normal to the surface. The components of this unit vector are represented by lx, ly, and lz, which can also be thought of as direction cosines. The dot product of this unit vector with the gradient of a scalar field f gives the value of the directional derivative, or normal derivative, at a particular point.
ssky
[tex]\frac{\partial }{\partial n}[/tex] is the normal derivative at the boundary surface S in the outward direction defines as

[tex]\frac{\partial }{\partial n}= l_{x}\frac{\partial }{\partial x}+l_{y}\frac{\partial }{\partial y}+l_{z}\frac{\partial }{\partial z}[/tex]

What is that mean? I have no knowledge about this formula.

can someone explain to me:

1- the meaning of this formula.
2- the meaning of [tex]\l_{x},l_{y},l_{z}[/tex] and is there a defination for them.

Physics news on Phys.org
1- It's the derivative of some quantity along the direction of the surface normal, rather than the usual way of differentiating along the direction of an axis.

2- lx, ly, lz are the components of the surface normal vector

An example, in the special case where the surface is parallel to the yz plane, and facing +x:
lx=1, ly=0, lz=0
so
[tex]
\frac{\partial }{\partial n}= \frac{\partial }{\partial x}
[/tex]

ssky said:
[tex]\frac{\partial }{\partial n}[/tex] is the normal derivative at the boundary surface S in the outward direction defines as

[tex]\frac{\partial }{\partial n}= l_{x}\frac{\partial }{\partial x}+l_{y}\frac{\partial }{\partial y}+l_{z}\frac{\partial }{\partial z}[/tex]

What is that mean? I have no knowledge about this formula.

can someone explain to me:

1- the meaning of this formula.
2- the meaning of [tex]\l_{x},l_{y},l_{z}[/tex] and is there a defination for them.