Not awesome please.

• Thread starter epenguin
  • Start date
epenguin
Homework Helper
Gold Member

Main Question or Discussion Point

Most forums have automatic blocks for obscene or unnacceptable words.

I don't know if it is recent American usage or what, but if it is not too late could a block be put put on the word 'awesome', :yuck: so we can keep the word for use, very occasionally, for what it really means, rather than for just anything that is any better than a poke in the eye? And if not, could people voluntarily refrain please?

Answers and Replies

Danger
Gold Member
so we can keep the word for use, very occasionally, for what it really means, rather than for just anything that is any better than a poke in the eye? And if not, could people voluntarily refrain please?
As a writer, I agree; as a member of PF, I don't. The best feature of this site is universally aiding in scientific (and, in GD, interpersonal) education. I've found, through my personal experience in real life, that you should use the jargon of the person that you're educating to facilitate understanding. Saying that something is 'extremely impressive' to a teenager just doesn't have the same impact as saying that it's 'awesome'.
Besides, it's an awesome word... :uhh:

D H
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Insights Author
Awesome idea!

Doc Al
Mentor
Totally!

Moonbear
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
Totally awesome! :approve:

Danger
Gold Member
Like, *****in', dude.

edit: Hmmm... that lost a bit in the translation. There seems to be a 'b', an 'i', a 't', a 'c', and an 'h' missing from my post...

lisab
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
Most forums have automatic blocks for obscene or unnacceptable words.