Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Nuclear proliferation is a major threat

1. Oct 22, 2004 #1
    join in a fight against nuclear weapons. as a weapons analyst i have years of experience in the feild of nuclear reseach. please join the cause

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 23, 2004 #2
    I agree. It is a major threat.

If not taken care of, every two-bit dictator, terrorist, crook and crazy will have access to nuclear weapons.

At that moment the world will long for the times of the cold war.

Also, if you believe diplomacy alone is the answer, you are nuts. There is two much greed, fear, and religious and ideological stupidity in the world for diplomacy to ever work. It is the "peace in our time" syndrome.

Only firm action taken immediately has a chance of success. And even this chance is small due to the "political correctness" of the leaders of those nations who can actually to something about it.

You cannot stop this trend with politically correct police or military actions either. Only a firm and intelligent use of force. along with cooperation and diplomacy will do the trick.

War may be hell, but nuclear war is hell to the nth power.

juju

4. Oct 24, 2004 #3
    If history is any predictor the world will do nothing about the control of nuclear weapons until some one uses one. You can see what is taking place in this country when Bush took action to prevent proliferation of WMD. There is a mindset that thinks blind peace is the answer. His ability to prevent proliferation has been hampered by the division in the country. If Iran or Korea saw that the world was united or even this country was united those countries would give up their nuclear ambition as did Libya. Putting you name on a piece of paper will do no good. It will most likely produce negative results and be used as support for blind peace.

5. Oct 24, 2004 #4

selfAdjoint

Staff Emeritus