Coping with Nuclear Reactor Leakage: Lessons from Chernobyl and Fukushima

In summary: You can just make sure the level is not significantly higher than natural.In summary, the leakage of nuclear reactors, as seen in the Chernobyl and Fukushima disasters, has had long-term and devastating effects on the environment and human health. The initial air contamination could not be contained and has led to large areas being uninhabitable for hundreds of years. The cleanup process is ongoing and will take many decades, as seen in the recent discovery of a hole in the floor of one reactor at Fukushima. Despite this, the radiation levels around Chernobyl have decreased and it is now possible to visit the site. It is important to prevent further leakage and minimize the long-term impact of these accidents.
gilakmesum
how do we cope with leakage of nuclear reactors as happened at Chernobyl and Fukushima plan

Engineering news on Phys.org
I am not an expert, but here is my three cents (corrections or clarifications are welcome):
The initial air contamination could not be contained. Contaminated soil from fallout can be removed in a very small area around the reactors, but Chernobyl will have a large area that will be uninhabitable for hundreds of years. How long depends on the half-life of the material that escaped. A very large region of Eastern Europe suffered significant, but less, contamination. I think that most of it has returned to normal. Apparently, Fukushima air fallout was not as bad.

In both cases, they are still discovering what to do about the reactor ground contamination. Chernobyl was just buried and they recently moved a giant dome over it because the original cover was deteriorating. I guess they will just have to let things leak out below and suffer the consequences. They may not be very publicly open about the true situation.