Number Theory integer roots Problem

In summary, this problem asks for a polynomial p(x) to have a root a, and if x|b, p(x) must have a slope of 1 and a y-intercept of -n. If x|b, p(x) must also satisfy a couple of other conditions.
pzona
I've been stuck on this for a while now, and I was wondering if anyone could help me out. The problem is:

If ax[tex]^{2}[/tex]+bx+c=0, prove that all integer roots divide b

I'm fairly new to number theory, but this is the one problem that's been really tough for me. If someone could even give me someplace to start I'd appreciate it

Physics news on Phys.org
Have you tried looking for counterexamples?

1. This is not "Linear & Abstract Algebra" so I am moving it to "Number Theory"

2. Are we to assume that a, b, and c are integers?

As Moo Of Doom suggested- look for a counterexample- because this is NOT true!

Sorry, I was looking at something in linear algebra and I must have posted this there by mistake.

Also, yes, the problem says that a, b, and c are all integers

Good, have you found your counterexample yet? (Almost any quadratic with integer roots will do!) Once again, the reason it is "tough" for you is probably because it is not true.

Try to write b in terms of the roots.

Got it! Thanks for the help. I also found a related problem which is giving me trouble:

If x[tex]^{2}[/tex]+ax+b=0 has an integer root, show that it divides b.

It's in a chapter on integers, but I'm not sure if a and b are necessarily integers. I'm assuming they are. I was thinking that I should factor it and write it as two polynomials in terms of a and b, which will then show that an integer x divides b. Am I on the right track?

Actually, let me just show the proof I came up with, and if anyone has any suggestion on improving it, let me know.