Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Observation of Antiprotons

1. Jun 14, 2013 #1
    Hello guys.
    I am studying the experiment conducted by Chamberlain, Segrè, Wiegand and Ypsilantis in 1955 at Berkeley (using the Bevatron) to observe antiprotons.
    Here is the article: http://escholarship.org/uc/item/46p0z8w7#page-3

I have some questions.
    1) While the desired reaction of proton to copper-proton target was
    p p → p p p p'
    there is a strong background of Pion production. Why? And what is the reaction for the pion production?

2) You can read at the bottom of page 3, that negative particles scattered at 21° from the bevatron beam have a momentum of 1.19 Bev/c.
    Why?

I can attempt to answer just question 1: Pions are lighter than proton, so the threshold is lower. The reaction I figured out was
    p n → π- p p

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 14, 2013 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

p p -> p p + multiple pions (1, 2, 3, ...)
    p p -> p λ K + multiple pions and similar reactions are possible, too.
    Pions are a frequent product in all hadronic high-energy collisions, as they are very light.

If they have a lower momentum, they are bent more, if they have a higher momentum, they are bent less. The numbers depend on the geometry of the setup - mainly the field strength and its size.

4. Jun 14, 2013 #3
    Great :) Thanks for the quick reply!!
    But I have a further question. Why do they choose exactly 1.19 GeV/c ? I guess this corresponds to the threshold momentum expected for p'. But how can I compute this theoretically?

I computed the threshold kinetic energy of the incident proton, and this is K = 6*m (where m is the mass of the proton, and I am setting c = 1). So the threshold energy is
    E = K + m = 7m = 6568.1 MeV
    the momentum is then
    [itex]
    p = (E^2 - m^2)^{\frac{1}{2}} = 6500.7 MeV/c
    [/itex]