1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Obstuse trignometry

1. Jul 5, 2006 #1
    1) given that A is obstuse and that sinA=2/(sqaureroot of 5). find the value of cosA and tanA.
    2)given that tanA=-5/12 and that tanA and cosA have opposite signs, find the values of sinA and of cosA.

CAN SOMEONE TEACH ME EXACTLY HOW TO DO THESE PROBLEMS WITHOUT USING TRGNOMETRIC IDENTITES.PLEASE....I AM NEW TO THIS TOPIC AND I WANT TO GET A HEADSTART OVER MY PEERS.
    THANKS A LOT
    VIJAY

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 5, 2006 #2

VietDao29

Homework Helper

Ok, if A is obtuse, what sign will sin, cos, and tan of the angle A take (is it positive or negative?). You can take a look at the unit circle to see. Given sin A, one can manage finding cos A using Pythagorean Identity, i.e:
    sin2 A + cos2 A = 1.
    Having sin A, and cos A, can you find tan A? [tex]\tan A = \frac{\sin A}{\cos A}[/tex]
    I'll give you an example:
    A is an acute angle. Given that sin A = 1 / 5. Find cos A, and tan A
    Since A is an acite angle (i.e < 900), cos A must be positive. Using the Pythagorean Identity, we have:
    [tex]\sin ^ 2 A + \cos ^ 2 A = 1[/tex]
    [tex]\Leftrightarrow \cos ^ 2 A = 1 - \sin ^ 2 A = 1 - \frac{1}{25} = \frac{24}{25}[/tex]
    [tex]\Rightarrow \cos A = \pm \frac{\sqrt{24}}{5}[/tex]
    Since cos A is positive, we choose:
    [tex]\cos A = \frac{\sqrt{24}}{5}[/tex]
    We have:
    [tex]\tan A = \frac{\sin A}{\cos A} = \frac{1}{\sqrt{24}}[/tex]
    Can you go from here? :)

4. Jul 5, 2006 #3
    Thanks A Lot For The Solution

5. Jul 5, 2006 #4
    vietdao...but is there any other way of doin such problems withou using the trignometric identities...because this problem is printed before the worksheet on trignometric identities....?

6. Jul 5, 2006 #5