1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Obtaining the fourier series

1. Jan 21, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Please take into account I'm not very good at maths so I would just like to make sure that what I am doing so far is correct

Obtain the fourier transform for:

f(x) = x(2∏-x) 0<x<2∏ f(x)=f(x+2∏)

2. Relevant equations

f(x) = 1/2 a0 + Ʃ {an cosnx + bn sinnx} = ao/2 + a1cosx +a2cos2x + b1sinx+b2sin2x +...

3. The attempt at a solution

an = 1/x ∫x(2∏-x)cos(nωt) dt

I've attached the rest of my working out below:

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 21, 2012 #2

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

Your formula for an is incorrect. You should have ##1/\pi## in front, not 1/x. What is ω equal to in this case? What about the bn coefficients?

I'm not sure exactly what you're doing with the integration. Why did you break it up into two pieces?
    The second piece is definitely wrong. There's no cosine in it, for one thing.

Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  4. Jan 21, 2012 #3
    Ah that makes more sense!

The question itself is:

Obtain the fourier series for:

f(x)=x(2∏-x) 0<x<2∏ f(x)=f(x+2∏)

I split the integration because there was an f(x) and an f(x) so thought you were supposed to. There was also no mention of what the values for ω is and I hadn't gotten to the bn bit yet.

In the examples I have from my lecturer he has them with cosines in so I figured that this one would be the same. Please note I'm not very good at fourier series!

Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  5. Jan 21, 2012 #4

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor