1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Odd situation

1. Apr 3, 2005 #1
    Ok, heres my situation. Most of the people on here seem like they are pretty straight shooters, but perhaps there is someone out there can give me some advice. I finished my bachelors in CS in 2001, but after graduation was unable to find employment despite having internships. So I took up a job substituting in a high school for a bit, but didn't like it. After that, I started working for one of my brother's friend's mortgage business, but that really didn't work out either, as deals weren't coming in and its a 100% commission job (I was a loan officer - essentially a sales job).

After that, I decided that I would return to school and see if I could get into a grad program. I thought about CS, but my grades as a undergrad weren't spectacular so I thought I would look into another field. So I started taking courses in chemistry, hoping to get accepted into grad programs in chemical engineering. I will have completed organic and physical chem but the end of this semester. I recently heard back from the programs I applied to with rejection letters, one of them being my alma mater. There is still one more to go but it is the best program of the three I applied to and it seems incredibly unlikely