1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

ODE power series method

1. Nov 4, 2009 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    using the fact that [tex]\frac{sint}{t}[/tex] = [tex]\sum^{}_{n=0}[/tex][tex]\frac{ (-1)[tex]^{n}[/tex] t[tex]^{2n}[/tex]}{(2n+1)!}[/tex]

i wanted to write:

using that sint/t = ∑ (-1)ⁿ·t²ⁿ/(2n+1)!

find a power series solution of the equation tx'' +sint x = 0
    2. Relevant equations
    sorry i pushed the wrong button,

3. The attempt at a solution
    I'm a beginner at LaTeX, a disaster at LaTeX

i get something like ∑n(n-1)a_nt^(n-2) +sint∑a_n = 0

Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2009 #2

You only need to use the tex-brackets at the beginning and at the end; don't clutter the formula with them. Also, you should use \sin (or\mathrm{sin}) instead of sin, makes the font right.

[tex]\frac{\sin t}{t} = \sum_{n=0}\frac{ (-1)^{n} t^{2n}}{(2n+1)!}[/tex]

Okay, so how do find a power series solution? You write the DE as a sum over powers of t and then require that the coefficient is zero for all n. That gives you a recursion relation between the coefficients a_n.

You're missing a t and a t^n there. Then write out the series expansion for sint/t and you can find a formal solution of the form

[tex] \sum_{n=0}^{\infty} A_n t^n = 0 [/tex] where now A_n is something quite complicated, but it contains the recursion relation for the coefficients a_n. I am not sure if you can find an answer in terms of elementary functions; the form of the equation suggests to me that you can't.

4. Nov 5, 2009 #3
    Well this is how far i get:
    Using that

[tex]\frac{\sin t}{t} = \sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\frac{(-1)^{n} t^{2n} }{(2n+1)!}[/tex]

for t≠0 i rewrite tx''+sint x =0 as