How to Calculate OLS Estimator with Given β0 in 50 Data Points?

• Thread starter zmalone
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ols
In summary, the OLS estimator for β1 can be derived by minimizing the dispersion function \sum {\left(Y_i - 3 - b_1 x_i\right)^2} using methods of one-variable calculus. The specific value can be found using the numerical information provided in the conversation. For more detailed steps, refer to the post provided.
zmalone

Homework Statement

ΣiYi = 500; ΣiXi = 150; ΣiYi2 = 17000; ΣiXi2 = 4000; ΣiXiYi = 8000; n = 50.

β0 = 3. Derive formula for OLS estimator of β1 and find estimate

Homework Equations

I'm new to OLS and I'm not sure where to go from:

Σ(Yi - 3 - b1Xi)^2

I was able to walk through the steps in my class lectures to solve Bhat1 and Bhat0 but am a little confused when β0 is given. Can anyone explain the logical following steps? Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
Your dispersion function
[tex]
\sum {\left(Y_i - 3 - b_1 x_i\right)^2}
[/tex]

is now just a function of one unknown. Use methods of one-variable calculus to minimize it, then use the numerical information provided above to find the specific value

1. What is the OLS estimator with given β0?

The OLS (Ordinary Least Squares) estimator with given β0 is a statistical method used to estimate the relationship between a dependent variable and one or more independent variables. It calculates the best-fitting line or curve by minimizing the sum of squared differences between the observed values and the predicted values.

2. How is the OLS estimator with given β0 calculated?

The OLS estimator with given β0 is calculated by finding the values of the slope and intercept that minimize the sum of squared differences between the observed values and the predicted values. This is done using mathematical equations and statistical software.

3. What is the purpose of using the OLS estimator with given β0?