1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

On a certain insufficiency

1. Jun 23, 2010 #1
    Greetings,

This might not be a question of the usual kind. However, the feelings that I perceive these days cannot be put into more mainstream a framework.

I am a quite successful undergraduate (2nd term) student of Pure Mathematics. However, now that almost a year has elapsed, I feel in retrospect that this timespan is severely out of scale, in relation to the amount of new knowledge, new concepts and ways of thinking attained. And in a certain sense, it frustrates me.

My university is good, my professors great. The topics we learn are, albeit basic, of essential importance, and I do know why I am learning them and that I remain motivated. I have a deep unconditional interest in abstract structures. I had hoped, though, and that may be the cause of my frustration, that I will learn much more and understand much more.

Some of you may suggest me to study whatever I am additionally interested in by myself. And, yes, that's exactly what I am trying to do. The actual topics that I need to write exams on, and hence have a priority, do require a significant amount of time, though. I can't just not finish a homework sheet (which aren't difficult, but require time nonetheless), and instead prove all theorems in a chapter or two of a book on measure theory by myself.

Of course, I am not the "ideal" student. I procrastinate a lot. I could work on that. And I could make an effort to improve my social life. I do have one, but it could be a lot more satisfying. All in all, I could become more efficient in what I do.