Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

On alien abduction, grays, and consciousness

1. Jan 30, 2006 #1
    Hello,

I'm new to this part of the forum and thought it might be fun to poke a stick into the hornet's nest (so to speak).

Lot's of folks have alien abduction stories to tell, and lots of these stories have unsettling similarities. Some of these similarities are the apparent ability of the aliens to go through walls at will, they have big, dark eyes, they are gray, and whatnot. I was wondering if anyone had any stories they'd like to share?

Mostly, I'm interested in determining the activities of the abductees just prior to and after their experiences. The reason why is that I've developed a personal hypothesis that the human mind may have a form of "hard-wired" instinctual reaction to stress. That being that brain stress might trigger primitive danger signals that the higher brain (in dream-state), might interpret as a stranger-danger threat.

I'm wondering if this might tend to cause the brain to dream certain dreams that might be shared in similar fashion by many people. Something so basic that it's a fear-response, common denominator.

These shared dreams have many models in psychology. For instance, many people dream of being naked in public, or of falling, or of flying. Many of these dreams can have lots of shared characteristics and details.

Paralysis seems to be a common experience in these stories. As we know, sleep paralysis is common and normal. Therefore (supposing this is a dream experience), I'm wondering if any sleepwalkers that tend not to be paralyzed by sleep have tried to fight off the abductors. If so, what was the result? Were you able to act? Were there any witnesses?