Is an Online Physics PhD Program Feasible for Full-Time Students?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of completing a PhD degree in Physics online or part-time while working full-time. The experts advise against this as a PhD program typically requires years of working with a supervisor and being immersed in a scientific environment. They also mention that even in certain fields, such as medical physics, a part-time PhD can take up to 10 years to complete.
ManishN
Are there any universities that offers a online PhD degree program in Physics?

-thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
If there were you should be very sceptical of that. A PhD requires years of working with a supervisor and also exposing yourself to a scientific environment. It is not something you would do from home.

Likes JD_PM, gleem, jasonRF and 1 other person
That's a good point! I have a masters degree in Medical Physics but my real interest lies in theoretical physics. I was hoping to be able to do online or part-time doctorate degree and keep my current FT job. The closest university to me doesn't accept part-time students.

It should not. Being a doctoral student is typically a full time job. The only exceptions I know of are industrial PhD students in technology subjects who are doing their studies as part of their employment at some company in collaboration with the university and students in different medical subjects, such as medical physics, who are working part time with clinical duties and part time with their PhD. Also keep in mind that even in those cases, a part time PhD can take on the order of 10 years to complete.

1. What is an Online Physics PhD program?

An Online Physics PhD program is a doctoral program in physics that is offered through an online platform. This means that students can complete the program remotely, without having to physically attend a university campus.

2. How long does it take to complete an Online Physics PhD program?