1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Open air columns

1. Sep 9, 2010 #1
    I am doing research on open air column resonance. In an experiment I suspended copper pipe and struck it with a hammer. I measured the fundamental frequency for many lengths of pipe.

After analyzing the data, I was surprised with the relationship. My research indicated that I would use the formula [tex]f=\frac{nv}{2L}[/tex]. My data, however, seems to follow something like [tex]f=\frac{c}{L^{2}}[/tex] where [tex]c[/tex] is some constant.

Does anyone know what's going on?
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 9, 2010 #2

Gold Member

Welcome to PF, Cleb.
    I'm not a scientist, and know nothing of formulae, but I do have to ask an obvious question here. Is your first equation based upon the cylinder alone? If so, might you have failed to account for the rigidity and placement of the suspension point? No insult intended; it's just the first thing that came to mind.
  4. Sep 9, 2010 #3
    Thanks, I forgot to mention that in my first post. The pipe was suspended by fishing line was able to vibrate freely. In addition, when I use a frequency generator, the frequencies sound right, which obviously isn't a valid way to measure frequency, but it does lead me to believe that my measured frequencies are correct, and it is not an error of pipe restraint or microphone placement.
  5. Sep 9, 2010 #4

Gold Member

Okay. In that case, I'm afraid that you'll have to wait for someone else to respond. That was my best shot. :redface:
  6. Sep 9, 2010 #5
    Thanks anyway!
  7. Sep 10, 2010 #6
    Anyone else?
  8. Sep 10, 2010 #7
    My 2-cents:
    Formulae are usually derived with respect to specific experimental parameters.