Critiques on SpaceX Technology: A Closer Look at the Engineering Factors

In summary, the author critiques the feasibility of landing a rocket on end and the body and engine strength needed for launch and reuse regardless of the method of recovery. They say that the most logical choice is to use propulsive landing, which requires a smaller payload loss.
Boing3000
Gold Member
Hello everybody,

After Googling a little I find very few scientific critiques on SpaceX "technology". Let's forget about economics and purpose. Just the engineering factors.

To make a rocket landing on end seems preposterously wasteful (fuel weight) and complicated (engine trust and orientation), and what about the body strength ?
As far as I know some very cheap and reliable parachutes combine with some glorified "airlandingbag" (if sea water bothers you that much) would do the trick of reusability.

What am I missing here ?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not an expert, but it seems fairly obvious. SpaceX can land their boosters back at the launch site if fuel considerations permit or on barges if not. Parachute landings are too imprecise to be allowed over land at all, and obviously could not hit a barge either, and for a sea landing it would have to carry a lot of additional equipment (not just a parachute but also its own "ship") instead of just the control paddles and landing legs. Fuel is cheap and doesn't require additional testing compared with adding on more hardware. They have clearly already solved the most difficult problem, which is the software to control the landing. The body and engine strength is needed for launch and reuse regardless of the method of recovery, and the use of the engines to slow it down is consistent with stresses that it already needs to handle, so it seems a neat solution.

Boing3000 said:
What am I missing here ?
SpaceX investigated parachutes, and they don't work.