Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Optical coherence

1. Jul 17, 2011 #1
    Hello all, I'm studying classical and quantum coherence in optics and I can't understand what's the physical meaning of second order coherence. I mean, what's the fundamental difference between it and the first order one? I know they are defined differently but I can't see in which case and why it could give more info than 1st order (exception made for recognizing if the light beam is classical or quantum). And, regarding this, what are, physically, quantum coherent states? why are they defined so? The common answer could be "because they are all orders coherent" but what does it mean?
    Sorry for all those questions but i'm really confused:confused:

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2011 #2

Cthugha

Science Advisor

This is already a huge difference, isn't it? First-order coherence basically gives you the coherence time or length. Second-order coherence allows to distinguish between several kinds of light fields (coherent, quantum, thermal). It gives you some information about the underlying photon number distribution of your light field. However, as this distribution is difficult to measure directly as detectors are never ideal, it is easier to measure the variance and other normalized higher order moments of the probability distribution in terms of the second- and higher-order correlation functions.