Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Optimization Code

1. Aug 19, 2005 #1
    OK, here is the situation.

I am supposed to write optimization code in Matlab to determine which of two missions an airplane should perform. There are three total, but one of them has been decided on. So I need to determine which of the other two I should do.

The problem is that I have never written this type of code before, so I have no clue what to do.

Could someone give me a good resource I can use as a starting point to writing this code?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 19, 2005 #2
    um i think you need to put parameters/variables/criterion that your using so that people can be more descriptive. ie is it a airplane path like TSP/Hcycles problem?

4. Aug 19, 2005 #3
    ok, I need to minimize the weight as much as i can.

one mission involved flying up to 10 liters of water, and is scored by number of laps completed ^2, ie 5 laps = 25 for score

the other is carry 96 tennis balls for 2 minutes, and this can be any number, as long as all 96 fly. scored by 1/RAC where RAC = airframe + battery weight.

The plane already will carry 48 tennis balls and 4 liters of water.

5. Aug 19, 2005 #4
    There is an optimization function built in.

What you want to do is define a goal function. The matlab function will
    minimize that goal function (If you want to maximize it, put a minus sign in front
    of it.)

Then there are some number of unknowns. You goal function is a function of the
    unknowns and matlab will find particular values for the unknowns so that the
    goal function is a minimum.

Try "help fminsearch"

6. Aug 19, 2005 #5
    thanks!!!

is fminsearch in standard matlab or is it in a toolbox?

7. Aug 20, 2005 #6

PerennialII

Science Advisor
    Gold Member