1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Orthonormal vectors

1. Dec 2, 2007 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

for 2 matrices, A and B

A=
    a 0 0
    0 -a 0
    0 0 -a

B=
    b 0 0
    0 0 -ib
    0 ib 0

Find three orthonormal vectors which are simultaneous eigenvectors of A and B.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

I am very new to matrix math. The first thing that confused me was the use of the term "simultaneous eigenvectors." I looked through a bunch of books without finding it, so I assume the question is asking in general for 3 vectors that are also eigenvectors of the matrices. I understand the term orthonormal (both orthogonal and normalized). I'm kind of stuck on where to start. I tried getting eigenvalues for the matrices but the answers didn't seem to make sense.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Eric
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 2, 2007 #2

EnumaElish

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

What did you try? What did you get? Why did the answers not make sense?

4. Dec 2, 2007 #3
    I don't know how to put the lambda symbol in here. Let #=lambda

I took AX=#X

so
    a-# 0 0
    0 -a-# 0
    0 0 -a-#

taking det I had

(a-#)(-a-#)^2=0

so #=-a,a

But there should be 3 eigenvalues. If I use these values to get the eigenvectors, I get both vectors = (0 0 0)

When I do the same for the B matrix I get the same result.

Like I say, I'm very new to this. We got this stuff sort of thrown at us at the last minute and I can't find a good similar example in the textbooks I have.

Thanks - Eric

5. Dec 3, 2007 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor