Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Painting (continued): questions

1. Aug 5, 2008 #1
    :smile: Okay, so I have primed the room. One gallon got me one full coat. I can still see some of the original light blue through the white primer. I am going to paint it light brown...like a "toasted cashew" color.

Do I need a second coat of primer?

This is the desired color.

This is the current color. (Before priming)

Also...you know that ever-so-slightly 'textured' look that a roller leaves? You know...it's slightly 'bubbly'....

Is there any way to avoid this? It seems unprofessional looking to me;not that I'm a pro. I just think it could look better.

How do pros get a smooth finish? Is it the quality/material of the roller I am using?

Thanks for your opinions! :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 5, 2008 #2
    The bubbly look is called stippling, it comes from layers of paint applied with a roller. The only way to remove it is to sand it off before you paint, and then use a foam roller or spray gun.

I personally would add another coat of primer, so you don't end up with a greenish shadow cast with the new color{blue+yellow=green}. I have even got primer tinted the same hue as my paint, after a disaster of, shall we call it, sea foam gray:yuck:

4. Aug 5, 2008 #3
    Thanks! So, a foam roller is a better roller than the traditional 'poly-whatever' ones that I usually get.

I just 'buzzed' over the original walls with a palm sander. It appears it would be a lot of work to get all that stippling out:eek:

Edit: I Googled 'stippling' and it appears that people do this on purpose?

5. Aug 5, 2008 #4

turbo

Gold Member

Yes. People buy rollers that are designed to leave textures in the finish, and there are paints that not only stipple well, but that also develop additional texture as they
    dry.

6. Aug 5, 2008 #5

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor