How can I accurately calculate the lift coefficient for my paper plane's wing?

In summary, the conversation is about a game developer seeking advice on how to accurately simulate the physics of a paper airplane in their game. They have already calculated the trust, drag, lift, gravity, and velocity of the paper airplane, but are now trying to determine the correct lift coefficient using a formula they found on a forum. They are also wondering about the behavior of the paper airplane in reality and have provided a link to a webpage on paper airplane aerodynamics for reference.
Wolv3r
Hello Guys.

Maybe you got in the past some similar questions :)

I'm a game developer and I'm programming a game with a paper plane and I want to achieve a nearly real physic.

What I got so far:

trust = the speed when I throw the paper plane.
drag = dragcoefficient * airdensity * trust² * surface / 2
lift = 0.5 * airdensity * velocity² * wingarea * lift coefficient
gravity = weight * 9.822 / (24 frames per seconds)
velocity = trust - drag - lift + gravity

So, my problem now is this:

• the correct lift coefficient:
    How can I calculate the lift coefficient with aoa? Here on this forum I found the following formula:
    Cl = Cl(2d slope) * (AR/AR+2)*aoa

But what is 2d slope, and how can I calculate the Cl when I don't have the Cl? And what is AR?
  • When I throw the paper plane, and it's moving upwards, the speed is increasing. But it must be decreasing:
    I know, that I calculate the lift into velocity. So it must be increasing. But how is it in reality?

Greetings and thanks

Wolv3r

Physics news on Phys.org