1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Particle motion in a straight line - find opposing force as a function of velocity

1. Jul 21, 2011 #1
    Hello everyone,

This is my first time in Physics forums so forgive me if I stray from the convention for asking questions. Me and a friend are completely stumped on our first assignment for the year and we are not sure where else to turn!

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A particle of mass m can move in a straight line. The only force acting on the particle opposes its motion, and depends only on its speed. The time T taken for the particle to come to rest after it is set into motion with speed u is given by the formula [itex]T=klog(1+au)[/itex] for all u, where k and a are positive constants. Find the force acting on the particle during the interval [itex]0\leq t\leq T[/itex] as a function of its speed v. Find also the distance the particle travels in time T.

Hint: Recall that the first fundamental theorem of calculus states that [itex]\frac{\mathrm{d} }{\mathrm{d} x} \int_{a}^{x}f(w)dw=f(x)[/itex].

2. Relevant equations

[itex]T=klog(1+au)[/itex], [itex]\frac{\mathrm{d} }{\mathrm{d} x}, \int_{a}^{x}f(w)dw=f(x)[/itex]

[itex]F(v)=m\frac{\mathrm{d}v }{\mathrm{d} t}[/itex]

3. The attempt at a solution

As far as I can see the best thing to do is take Newton's second law stated above, and separate the variables to give:

[itex]m\int \frac{dv}{F(v)}=\int_{0}^{T}dt[/itex]

Which would give simply T on the RHS, so substituting for T would give:

[itex]m\int \frac{dv}{F(v)}=klog(1+au)[/itex]

Now I am not sure how to proceed. I am tempted to try and take F(v) out of the integral to the other side of the equation, but I'm not sure whether this is allowed: