1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Particle physics mathematics

1. Jul 15, 2008 #1
    Any suggestions on text which could better my understanding of the mathematics governing particle physics? I am in my fourth year of my B.A.Sc. engineering physics degree, so I have a fairly strong math background as is.

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2008 #2
    I don't think an engineering background is enough math for particle physics. From my understanding, a lot of particle physics is modeled on gauge theories and the SU(n) objects. I know a lot of Lie Algebras are used.

4. Jul 15, 2008 #3
    For particle physics you want to understand the representation theory of compact matrix Lie groups, in particular SU(N) and how particle multiplets fall into their representations such as the singlet, fundamental and adjoint representations. Understand how to obtain higher dimensional representations from the fundamental representation using the tensor method.

For physics books, have a look at Cheng and Li which talks about the tensor method and Young tableux. For pure maths check out Wu-Ki Tung Group theory in physics. There is also a GTM book by Brian Hall on Lie groups.

Edit: Of course, you should already know all about the Dirac equation and quantum field theory first.

Last edited: Jul 15, 2008
  5. Jul 15, 2008 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2015 Award

I'm going to disagree with the above two posts. While Lie groups play an important role in particle physics, actually doing a calculation requiring deep understanding of them is rare and specialized. Somebody did the algebra a long time ago, and now we can just use the results. (A classic example is Clebsch-Gordon coefficients)