Particle swarm optimization

In summary, the conversation discusses a final year student's project on power system state estimation using particle swarm optimization (PSO). They are seeking guidance on how to start coding and understanding the PSO algorithm. Some suggestions are given, such as looking into Finite Point Analysis and creating a variable matrix. It is also mentioned that the project may be more suitable for a graduate research thesis. The student is also seeking help with running a selection from a group box using MATLAB and defining the current iteration in the PSO algorithm.
dawn j
I'm a final year student. My final project is about power system state estimation by using particle swarm optimization (PSO). I need to create a software based on PSO. Can somebody give me some brief idea on how to start the coding and guide me about the PSO thing.

Engineering news on Phys.org
dawn j said:
I'm a final year student. My final project is about power system state estimation by using particle swarm optimization (PSO). I need to create a software based on PSO. Can somebody give me some brief idea on how to start the coding and guide me about the PSO thing.

Welcome to the PF.

Since it is your project, can you start by telling us what you know about the subjects? What kind of power systems are involved? Why use PSO over other candidate methods?