Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Particle swarm optimization

1. Feb 21, 2013 #1
    I'm a final year student. My final project is about power system state estimation by using particle swarm optimization (PSO). I need to create a software based on PSO. Can somebody give me some brief idea on how to start the coding and guide me about the PSO thing.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 21, 2013 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF.

Since it is your project, can you start by telling us what you know about the subjects? What kind of power systems are involved? Why use PSO over other candidate methods?

4. Feb 21, 2013 #3
    Although "Particle Swarm Optimization" is the best title I have seen here for a while.....It was new to me - as a greenhorn on the topic but gotta love Wikipedia & Google, it did confirm some of what I pictured it was. I would look at Finite Point Analysis as a pure "starting point" since this computational modeling concept is so widespread. Traditionally in FPA the relationship ( interaction) from one point to another is fixed ( ignoring breakdowns) - from this framework, from here I would think to establish a Variable Matrix (vs the fixed above) to define the interactions. Also - from the outset - ALL particles - probably need a connection to all of the other particles ( yikes that's complex). It would also seem that the interaction / reaction matrix would be exceptionally high order .