Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pascal question

1. Jan 30, 2005 #1
    Hi everybody,
    I am new in programming. I just want to ask this: when we write a program the statements are executed in the order that we have written them in the body of the program? This is about Pascal but does it apply to other languages too? Of course some statements "change the order" causing some to be executed more than once or not at all ("while" loop etc) but generally the order we write them is the order that are executed? And only one statement is executed at a time and not two for example simultaneously?
    Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 30, 2005 #2

I would hope so, otherwise program writing would be incredibly difficult.

That means yes.

4. Jan 30, 2005 #3
    Thanks for your answer. Just one more thing: every statement(except for the statements in the loops and the statements in the "if" statement) is only executed once and then the pc goes to the next statement, executes it once and goes on until it reaches the end of the program?
    These may be too easy for most of you but i just want to get the basics of how a program operates in a pc
    Thanks again

5. Jan 30, 2005 #4

dduardo

Staff Emeritus

Actually, statements can run simultaneously in some cases. For example, if your writing a multi-threaded application you can fork a process and run another piece of code concurrently. Another case is in an an event driven system. If two or more events are triggered simultaneously, the code for the events will run together. Finally, programming langauges like VHDL, which is used to design hardware, allows procedures to run simultaneously. If this wasn't the case, digital chips would run very slow.

6. Jan 30, 2005 #5
    Thanks for your answer, but I must admit i didn't understand much. My question