Find Your Path to Astrophysics

In summary, a 3rd-year university student studying physics is interested in pursuing a master's degree in astrophysics. However, their department does not have any professors specializing in this field. They are seeking guidance on how to start studying astrophysics on their own, potentially creating a research poster before they graduate. They have checked Kepler & K2 databases but are unsure of where to begin. They are also open to suggestions for introductory astrophysics textbooks.
Astrotek
Note: I hope, I am not breaking any forum rules, If I do feel free to move my thread.

Hi,
I am a 3rd-grade physics student, my department has not many student and none of our profs interested in astrophysics.

So there is nobody to show me the way and I think some of you might help me.

I am thinking of mastering in astrophysics, before that, I must get in it a bit to have an idea about what is it like to be an astrophysicist. If I can pick a subject and start to self-study on it I might create a research poster before I graduate and I'd be more prepared for my master's degree.

I checked Kepler & K2 databases and no idea where to start. Maybe you can offer me a guide or starting point.
Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Astrotek said:
I am a 3rd-grade physics student
Do you mean perhaps 3rd year of university? In US English, "3rd grade" means 3rd year of elementary (primary) school, i.e. about age 8. :eek:

[added] Have you studied any astrophysics at all yet, at an introductory level? If not, you might want to start with a general astrophysics textbook. If you look in our Science and Math Textbooks forum and use the search feature to look for "astrophysics", you'll find many discussions of astrophysics books. Many of them are more on a popular level, but I do see real textbooks also.

Unfortunately, I'm not familiar with the field so I can't give a specific suggestion myself.

Last edited:
Likes symbolipoint and ISamson