Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

People interested in science

1. Apr 13, 2014 #1
    I was watching Neil De grasse Tyson, and he said the developed countries have an obligation to push the boundaries of science and space exploration. I was thinking do people that have an interest in science have a moral obligation to do science research and make the world a better place, what does everyone think?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 13, 2014 #2

wukunlin

Gold Member

I personally believe it is my freedom to decide what to do with my interests. I do like to see the world in a better place but I want to contribute because I want to, not because I have to.

4. Apr 13, 2014 #3
    My life, my decision whether I was an astronomer or physicist or whatever the hell. Space exploration is sci-fi to me, it's cool to see it being done, however, should we expect any practical outcome of it? I don't know, I don't care. First, get our s* sorted out here on god's green earth, then see what's out there, maybe.

Anyway, the speed of light cannot be reached or broken by any super ship no matter how powerful. Even IF somehow, through some miracle - what is the point? Would take 4 years still to reach the closest star system to ours (assuming we reach the speed of light instantenously with infinite acceleration) . Information feedback still is limited to the speed of light, means another 4 years to find out that what we discovered is a planet made of rock...greaat. Meanwhile, back on the Earth..

5. Apr 13, 2014 #4

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Trouble with that line of thought is it'll tempt somebody to appoint himself in charge of what other people should be doing.. and the people to whom THAT idea appeals are the least qualified to do it..

6. Apr 13, 2014 #5

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award