Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Percentage Question

1. Dec 27, 2004 #1
    Hey all, I'm a lawyer with some interest in physics, however, I absolutely suck at math so I've come here for help.

Here's the question. I've got this case whose success depends on the occurence of two separate conditions. This case can not be won if BOTH conditions do not occur.

Condition 1 has approximately a 60% chance of occurence
    Condition 2 has approximately a 70% chance of occurence

What is the total probability that this case will be won? How would I go about figuring this out in the future?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 27, 2004 #2

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You cannot answer the question unless you know if the conditions are indpendent. you might also wish to remove some of the negatives - we aren't lawyers, unnecessary double negatives are not attractive.

for what it's worth, the probability of both 1 and 2 not occuring is .4 times .3 if they are independent. or the probability of either one happening is 0.6+0.7 - P(both occur). but if we do not know about the independence or not we're stuffed.

4. Dec 27, 2004 #3
    Assume the conditions are independent.

P.S. In order to win this case, BOTH conditions must occur.

5. Dec 27, 2004 #4

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

P(1 and two occur) is the product of the probability 1 occurs and the probability 2 occurs , as surely any introduction to probability theory states.

6. Dec 27, 2004 #5

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

If events A and B are independent then the probability that A and B both occur is P(A and B)= P(A)*P(B). If the probability that A will occur is 0.70 and the probability that B will occur is 0.60 then the probability that they will both occur is (0.70)*(0.60)= 0.42.

7. Dec 27, 2004 #6
    Matt/Halls