Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Perturbation theory

1. Jun 1, 2005 #1
    Hi,

I'm new to this subject, so bear with me. We consider the harmonic oscillator with a pertubation:

[tex]\hat{H}' = \alpha\hat{p}.[/tex]​

(What kind of a perturbation is that anyway, it's not a disturbance in the potential, what does it correspond to physically.)

Now I have to calculate the first and second order energy corrections. I express p by the ladder operators:

[tex]p=i\sqrt{\tfrac{\hslash m\omega}2}(a_+-a_-).[/tex]​

I find that the first order correction is 0, and that the second order correction is [tex]E_n^2=m\alpha^2/2[/tex], that is, the energy shift is INDEPENDENT of n (i.e. it is the same for all excited states of the oscillator), but this can't be true, can it?

Last edited: Jun 1, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 2, 2005 #2
    Hint 1: H_harm= k1^2.p^2+k2^2.q^2
    If you add this potential (alpha.p) what do you obtain?

Hint 2: what is the interaction of a spinless charged particle with a magnetic field?

Seratend.

4. Jun 2, 2005 #3
    Well, it could be solved analytically, but I don't know how. I'm not particularly familiar with solving such differential equations. I've tried solving it numerically in Matlab, and this confirms my result, but it's not quite satisfying.

I don't know much about magnetic interactions in QM, haven't touched the subject in our intro course, unfortunately.

5. Jun 2, 2005 #4
    Hint 3: a^2+ka= (a+k/2)^2 - k^2

Hint 4: do you known the classical hamiltonian of a particle with an electromagnetic field?

Seratend.

6. Jun 2, 2005 #5
    I've tried completing the square, but I don't know how to go on.

The energy of a classical particle in an electromagnetic field is just the sum of the energy associated with the electric and magnetic field, respectively, right?

[tex]E = \frac{q_1q_2}{4\pi\epsilon_0r^2}-\mu\cdot B[/tex]​