Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pet during physics grad school?

1. Nov 30, 2013 #1
    Hello,

I'm a senior undergraduate physics majors taking a gap year before applying to physics grad school. I wanted to get a pet before continuing off the physics grads school and i was wondering if I realistically have time or money to take care of it. I'm thinking of getting a pet lizard which take up more time as babies but not as much as adults. I want to eventually adopt a dog but I think they would take up too much time (especially during the first two years of physics grad school.)

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 30, 2013 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You could always get a pet rock. They don't take much time, even when they are young.

4. Nov 30, 2013 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

When I was in grad school, for a while some of us kept pets in our offices.

One group of students set up a pen in the corner of their office, with a rabbit, a turtle, and an iguana. They also had an aquarium with fish (of course) and a newt named Sir Isaac. Another guy had a cage with a boa constrictor.

I had a pair of gerbils. We resolved the "population problem" by feeding the boa constrictor.

One day the department chairman heard about the pen in that office, so he took his master key and went to investigate while everyone was out. He opened the door and the rabbit hopped out between his legs. He decreed that the pen had to go, but we could still keep pets provided they were in aquariums or fully-enclosed cages.

5. Nov 30, 2013 #4