Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

PF Profesionals and Students.

1. Jun 10, 2006 #1

Pyrrhus

Homework Helper

What specific careers (Experimental Physicist, Mechanical Engineer,...) the members of PF have/going to have?

I am a student of Civil Engineering.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 10, 2006 #2

Danger

Gold Member

None for me, buddy. Never finished high-school. :redface:

4. Jun 10, 2006 #3
    My goals (academic):

BS:
    Mechanical Engineering

MS:
    Mechanical Engineering
    Electrical Engineering
    Systems Engineering
    (Maybe Applied Mathematics or Computer Science)

In terms of work:
    Not too sure but there are a few areas of interest so far:

Tomahawk Cruise Missile (guidance and controls)
    UAV's (Autopilot Design, Kalmann Filtering for vehicle identification and tracking [multiple hypothesis testing] also known as Ground Fusion Tracking)

But who knows, something else may come along that is more interesting.

PhD, eeeeh, maybe......

Last edited: Jun 10, 2006
  5. Jun 10, 2006 #4
    Currently working on a BS in Pure Math (just recently switched from Secondary Math Education) which I should easily finish in 2 years. Overall goal is either Masters or PhD in Math, and then to teach Math (preferably at a community college).

6. Jun 10, 2006 #5
    Wow, a guy like you Cyrus (with such a mountain of degrees) should try out for NASA or DARPA.
    I'm not in college yet, but I'll try out either for electrical engineering or any type of it, Particle physics, and maybe we'll see.

7. Jun 10, 2006 #6
    Amazing, I was thinking about posting the same thread today. This is really uncanny.

Anyway, right now I'm taking a BSc. Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2006
  8. Jun 10, 2006 #7