Exploring the Astrophysics Job Market: Passion vs Practicality

In summary, the job market for professional astronomers is difficult, but there are other career paths that an Astrophysics Phd would be qualified for.
Starcrossed97
Hi I am an undergraduate freshman at university. I have a passion for Astronomy and would love to become a professional astronomer. The only problem is I've heard by many people including a Professor of Physics that the job market is tough and it's hard to find jobs in Astrophysics. Should I follow my passion and risk not having a job and not being able to provide for myself and family or should I choose a more lucrative job in finance?

Physics news on Phys.org
Starcrossed97 said:
Should I follow my passion and risk not having a job

Do you mean "not having a job" or do you mean "not having a job as a professional astronomer"?

Academic positions in astronomy are quite competitive.

Starcrossed97 said:
not being able to provide for myself and family

If you get a Ph.D. in astronomy, this is very unlikely.

Starcrossed97 said:
or should I choose a more lucrative job in finance?

Or get a Ph.D. in astronomy and get a lucrative job in finance, as my friend did.

If you get a Ph.D, in astronomy, the chances are much less than 50% that you will get an academic position in astronomy. However, if you do not get a Ph.D., the chances are zilch that you will get an academic position in astronomy (unless you have the talent of a Freeman Dyson), but there are few unemployed folks with Ph.D.s in astronomy.

Only you can decide whether a passion is worth years of study and instability (e.g., temporary postdocs) versus switching earlier.

There are lots of choices, for example : 1) choose a different major as an undergrad; 2) finish a physics/astronomy B.S, and don't go further; 3) finish a Ph.D., and don't go further; 3) pursue postdoc positions after a Ph.D.

Different folks place different values on these situations.

Likes davidbenari and atyy