1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: PH INDICATORS I DONT GET IT

1. Aug 3, 2010 #1
    pH INDICATORS....I DONT GET IT :(

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Hello!

I don't really need homework help...I'm actually studying for my final exam and I have a couple of sample questions that I have no idea how I would go about solving. What I would appreciate is if someone could explain to me how to solve them rather than giving me the answer. Thank you so much for all your help and time in advance! :)

Q#1: Phenol red indicator changes from yellow to red in the pH range from 6.6 to 8.0. State what color the indicator will assume in the following solution: 0.1 M NaCl

a) yellow
    b) red-yellow mixture
    c) red
    d) The indicator is its original color
    e) There is not enough information to answer this question

Answer: C Red

Q#2: Phenol red indicator changes from yellow to red in the pH range from 6.6 to 8.0. State what color the indicator will assume in the following solution: 0.10 M NH4NO3

a) Red
    b) Red-Yellow Mixture
    c) Yellow
    d) The indicator is its original color
    e) There is not enough information to answer this question

Answer: C Yellow

2. Relevant equations

I would think that a relevant equation would be pH = -log[H_3_O+] but not sure...

3. The attempt at a solution

Clueless...

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 3, 2010 #2

epenguin

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Re: pH INDICATORS....I DONT GET IT :(

Do you know what the pH of a neutral solution is? I.e. pure water? And why? (There is an equation in that).

That said I cannot understand the answer given to Q1 myself.

4. Aug 3, 2010 #3

Hi!