1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs PhD for nuclear materials

1. Oct 27, 2012 #1
    Hi, everyone!
    I am undergraduate student from China. I am applying to pursue a PhD degree in United States next year. I am interested in nuclear materials, but the problem is that my home school offers little course on materials science. I am affraid that students of materials science may be preferred. Should I still keep my dream of being a materials scientist in nuclear engineering?
    I have some research background in materials corrosion, precisely non-irradiation induced stress corrosion cracking testing. But I find a majority of faculty in nuclear materials are focusing on irradaiton damage.
    I have found some professors I am interested in, they are: Peter Hosemann at UC Berkeley; Gary Was at Umich; James Stubbins at UIUC; Todd Allen at PSU. I read lots of their papers in Journal of Nuclear Materials. How do you think of these professors? Could you recommend more professors for me?
    Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 27, 2012 #2
    Sorry I made a mistake, Todd Allen at UW-madison

4. Oct 27, 2012 #3
    I'm in nuclear materials. When I started the program (nuclear engineering), I didn't have much background in materials (my undergrad was physics), so I don't think it's a big problem. You're expected to do some learning at grad school!

It shouldn't be surprising that people involved in *nuclear* materials are interested in irradiation damage. Otherwise they would just be in materials science. You solve many of the same problems whether or not you can about irradiation damage -- there just tend to be more defects to deal with in irradiated environments, so it's a little bit more interesting, in my opinion.