PhD in Germany vs USA: IIT Roorkee Physics Student

In summary, the consensus seems to be that a PhD in Germany is a more practical option than a PhD in the United States. However, this choice comes with a greater risk of not being able to complete the degree in a shorter amount of time. The choice also comes with the added benefit of having more time to take advantage of opportunities while learning as much as possible.
Dhanush Hanga;
I am a final year Masters student studying physics at IIT Roorkee, India. I have PhD admits in experimental high energy physics from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany and University of Illinois Chicago, USA. I have previously done an internship as an undergrad with a professor at KIT. Both the labs are working in collaboration with CMS. Which one should I choose and why?

Physics news on Phys.org
CMS is at CERN, so as a practical matter, it would be less of a hassle to travel between Karlsruhe and Geneva than between Chicago and Geneva.

In Germany you would not have to do coursework and could get finished with the PhD quicker.

cgk said:
In Germany you would not have to do coursework and could get finished with the PhD quicker.

But I think admission is much harder in general.

Thanks for the replies. I do not speak German, but that didn't seem like a problem when I was pursuing my internship. I know that I have to take up coursework in the US but it is worth it right?

No. USA is a terrible place to go to graduate school. There is no money here despite what people may tell you. Go to Germany.

If your admission letter says you will receive an assistantship or fellowship, there is money for you, despite what HuskyNamedNala will tell you.

Well, despite what Vanadium 50 will tell you, that fund might not cover your cost of living. A very good stipend is only 20 grand a year. And unless your contract gaurentees it for all 4 years, funding is on a semester by semester basis.