1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

PhD in Germany or USA

1. Mar 27, 2015 #1
    I am a final year Masters student studying physics at IIT Roorkee, India. I have PhD admits in experimental high energy physics from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany and University of Illinois Chicago, USA. I have previously done an internship as an undergrad with a professor at KIT. Both the labs are working in collaboration with CMS. Which one should I choose and why?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2015 #2
    Can you speak German?

4. Mar 27, 2015 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

CMS is at CERN, so as a practical matter, it would be less of a hassle to travel between Karlsruhe and Geneva than between Chicago and Geneva.

5. Mar 28, 2015 #4

cgk

Science Advisor

In Germany you would not have to do coursework and could get finished with the PhD quicker.

6. Mar 28, 2015 #5

WWGD

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

But I think admission is much harder in general.

7. Apr 1, 2015 #6
    Thanks for the replies. I do not speak German, but that didn't seem like a problem when I was pursuing my internship. I know that I have to take up coursework in the US but it is worth it right?

8. Apr 1, 2015 #7
    No. USA is a terrible place to go to graduate school. There is no money here despite what people may tell you. Go to Germany.

9. Apr 1, 2015 #8

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

If your admission letter says you will receive an assistantship or fellowship, there is money for you, despite what HuskyNamedNala will tell you.

10. Apr 1, 2015 #9