1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs PhD in Nuke

1. Jan 4, 2010 #1
    I've been reading physics forums for a while, but now I need the advice so ... newly registered!

I am about to finish a dual major in chem E and bioengineering, both ABET accredited, and want to get into Nuclear Engineering for a PhD.

That being said, I have several concerns, that I would appreciate comments on:
    - job market for PhDs - I am interested in reactor design and/or materials
    - I am an international student (undergrad in the US, though), which knocks out Navy and half the jobs
    - My background is probably not as strong as an EE, ME, or NE undergrad.

Also, I have some questions regarding which nuclear programs would be best for me. I expect to graduate with a 3.40 cumulative and 3.5+ engineering GPA. I will have had research and internships, but nothing in nuclear. So far, I have looked at the following options, which I think I might have a good shot at, what do you think?
    - U Tenn
    - Rolla
    - PSU
    - V Tech

Do you know which programs would take international students?
    Should I take more electives related to Nuclear Engineering (like corrosion) or spend my time on research, work, studying for the GRE, and raising my grades?

Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 4, 2010 #2

Astronuc

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Most, if not all, universities should accept international students.

For materials, I'd recommend - PSU, NCSU, UIUC, Michigan, Wisconsin, UC Berkeley, U of Florida (Gainesville). MIT also has a strong nuclear materials program.