1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs PhD in what area?

1. Feb 23, 2009 #1
    Hey all,
    I need some help.
    I am just about to finish my MSc in astrophysics, but I am tired of it. I have a background undergrad of quantum and some nuclear, but I want to do my PhD in something that involves computational physics that directly helps humanity, such as climate physics etc.

Can anyone suggest a possible future path and or University. Preferbly somewhere in Europe.
    Thanks all

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 23, 2009 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Have you looked into medical physics? I did a master's degree in plasma physics before switching over and have found the field very rewarding.

4. Feb 23, 2009 #3
    No I haven't could you maybe suggest some good universities?

5. Feb 23, 2009 #4

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I'm not familiar with European schools. In North America it's best to try to get into a CAMPEP-accredited program to ensure you get the full range of training you would need to enter the clinical field.

http://www.campep.org/campeplstgrad.asp

6. Feb 23, 2009 #5
    how much interaction do you have with patients?

7. Feb 23, 2009 #6

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor