1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs PhD now, later, or not?

1. Sep 27, 2007 #1
    I have been thinking a lot about this lately. I am a master student in maths. I will get my master hopefully in spring next year. After this degree I should be able to get a decent job in financial institution. As you might know, financial industry demands MS or PhD degree from their applicants. So I dont worry about getting a job after PhD.I also like doing maths very much. If I continue, I will study Variational Analysis, Stochastic Analysis, Ergodic Theory, etc. Something related to optimisation and probability.
    The following are my "options":
    1. Go on right after my master. I will try to get accepted by school in Northeast region because of their reputation in probability and applied maths field. This problem is that I have quite a bit of loan from my undergrad and this master degree. 4-5 years of PhD might cause some financial problem (I believe money should be spent at where is worth it.)
    2. Work in industry, pay for my load, and go back a few years later. But I am afriad that is too late when I lost my interest in academic.
    3. Not getting one at all. No actually cost but I might end up doing very routine work in the industry.

Other options or detailed opinions are welcome.

Leon

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 27, 2007 #2

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    2015 Award

a phd gave me a lot more options, especially since i wanted to do academic research.

getting one did not get any easier as i git older. it requiures a huge outlay of time and energy. young people have an advantage. it is very hard to go back and get it later.

it was perhaps the hardest thing i ever did.

4. Sep 28, 2007 #3

Chris Hillman

Science Advisor