From Philosophy to Physics: A Graduate School Prospect's Story

In summary, In September, I took the physics GRE and scored in the 800 or 900 range. I have been doing research in a lab and learning basic machining and CAD, and my prospects for admission into a graduate program seem good. However, my background is thin compared to other likely applicants and my math training is limited.
Sturk200
I graduated from a liberal arts school two years ago with a bachelor of arts in philosophy. I worked for a year, preparing to apply to grad school in philosophy. Then I had a revelation and suddenly knew that philosophy was a load of bull and that I needed to study science. Then I spent a year and two summers taking physics courses (non-degree) at a fairly high ranked university.

The result is a transcript with nine courses and a gpa of slightly higher than 4.0. (My undergrad gpa in philosophy was about 3.7). The courses are eight physics courses, constituting the core of an undergrad physics education, including two semesters of quantum, statistical physics, math methods, mechanics, e&m, optics, and one of those dumb intro courses where you study out of Halliday. The ninth class was ODE. Apart from high school, these courses are the entirety of my formal education in the sciences (I took some philosophy of science when I was studying in the humanities, but that probably doesn't count). Of course, doing well in these classes required a good deal of outside study and catch-up work while I was taking them.

I took the physics GRE in September and expect to get in the 800 or maybe 900 range, unless I screwed up so bad that I don't even know how bad I screwed up, which is a distinct possibility. I've also been putting in some hours doing research in a lab, though to date I don't have a whole lot to show for it as far as a finished product is concerned. However, I have learned some basic machining and CAD, as well as use of basic electronics equipment (oscilloscopes, lock-ins).